Welcome Prof. Mark J. Jackson, Kansas State University, USA to be the TPC!


Prof. Mark J. Jackson, Kansas State University, USA

Doctor Mark James Jackson is the McCune and Middlekauff Endowed Professor and University Faculty Fellow at Kansas State University. Born in Widnes, Lancashire, England, in 1967, Doctor Jackson began his engineering career in 1983 when he studied O.N.C. part I examinations and first-year apprenticeship-training course in mechanical engineering.  After gaining an Ordinary National Diploma in Engineering with distinctions and I.C.I. prize for achievement, he studied a degree in mechanical and manufacturing engineering at Liverpool Polytechnic and spent periods in industry working for I.C.I. Pharmaceuticals, Unilever Industries, Anglo Blackwells, Unicorn International and Saint-Gobain Corporation.  After graduating with the Master of Engineering (M. Eng.) degree with Distinction under the supervision of Professor Jack Schofield, M.B.E., Doctor Jackson subsequently conducted research for the Doctor of Philosophy (Ph. D.) degree at Liverpool in the field of materials engineering focusing primarily on microstructure-property relationships in vitreous-bonded abrasive materials under the supervision of Professors Benjamin Mills and H. Peter Jost, C.B.E., Hon. F.R.Eng..  He was subsequently employed by Unicorn Abrasives’ Central Research & Development Laboratory (Saint-Gobain Abrasives’ Group) as materials technologist, then technical manager, responsible for product and new business development in Europe, and university liaison projects concerned with abrasive process development.  Doctor Jackson then became research fellow at the Cavendish Laboratory, University of Cambridge, working with Professor John Field, O.B.E., F.R.S., and Professor David Tabor, F.R.S., on condensed matter physics and tribology before becoming a lecturer in engineering at the University of Liverpool in 1998.  At Liverpool, he attracted a number of research grants concerned with developing innovative manufacturing processes for which he was jointly awarded an Innovative Manufacturing Technology Centre from the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council in November 2001.  In 2002, he became associate professor of mechanical engineering and faculty associate in the Centre for Manufacturing Research, Centre for Electric Power, and Centre for Water Resources and Utilization at Tennessee Technological University (an associated university of Oak Ridge National Laboratory), and a faculty associate at Oak Ridge National Laboratory.  Dr. Jackson was the academic adviser to the Formula SAE Team at Tennessee Technological University.  At Tennessee Technological University, Dr. Jackson established the NSF Geometric Design and Manufacturing Integration Laboratory. He is also the Chang Jiang River Distinguished Professor of Mechanical Engineering at Harbin Institute of Technology in China.  Dr. Jackson also collaborated with Nobel Laureate Professor Sir Harold Kroto, F.R.S., editing a book on Surface Engineering of Surgical Tools and Medical Devices and a special issue of the International Journal of Nanomanufacturing on ‘Nanofabrication of Novel Carbon Nanostructures and Nanocomposite Films’. Dr. Jackson was appointed member of the United Nations Education, Scientific and Cultural Organization’s (UNESCO) International Commission for the Development of the ‘Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems’ Theme on ‘Nanoscience and Nanotechnologies’,  (http://m-press.ru/English/nano/index.html), and still serves in this capacity. The first edition of the encyclopedia was published 2009 and second edition published 2018. In March 2017, the degree of Doctor of Science (D. Sc.) in mechanical engineering was conferred upon Dr. Jackson in absentia by congregation for sustained contributions made in the area of mechanical engineering and advanced manufacturing over a period of twenty years.


Academic Experience

·         Assistant Lecturer, Liverpool Polytechnic, 1994-1995 (part-time).

·         Research Fellow, Cavendish Laboratory, University of Cambridge, 1997-1998 (full-time).

·         Visiting Research Fellow, Clarendon Laboratory, University of Oxford, 1997 – 1998 (part-time).

·         University Lecturer, University of Liverpool, 1998 – 2002 (full-time).

·         Associate Professor, Tennessee Technological University, 2002-2004 (full-time).

·         Associate Professor and Associate Department Head for Research, Purdue University, 2004-2011 (full-time).

·         Chang Jiang River Distinguished Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Harbin Institute of Technology, China, 2008.

·         Professor and Department Chair, Benjamin Franklin Institute of Technology, 2013 (full-time).

·         Professor, McCune and Middlekauff Endowed Professor/Fellow, University Faculty Fellow and Department Head/Academic Program Leader, Kansas State University, 2013-Present (full-time).


Non-academic Experience

·         British Railways Engineering Limited (Traction Maintenance), Longsight TMD, Mechanical Trainee – Traction Maintenance, 1981 – 1983 (part-time).

·         Leyland Bus/Ricardo Consulting Engineers, MPTE Central Works, Mechanical Trainee – Traction Maintenance and Design, 1981 – 1983 (part-time).

·         Imperial Chemical Industries (ICI), Mechanical Craftsman, 1983-1986 (full-time).

·         Rolls-Royce Aerospace Division, Mechanical Engineer, 1987 (part-time).

·         Anglo Blackwells and Rio Tinto Zinc, Process Metallurgist, 1990 – 1991 (full and part-time).

·         Unilever Industries, Mechanical Engineer, 1991 – 1992 (part-time).

·         Unicorn Abrasives (Saint-Gobain Corporation), Materials Technologist and Group Technical Manager (Applications’ Engineering), 1992-1997 (part and full-time).

·         Vitrified Technologies LLC, Director of Research (VPR and CTO), 2002 – 2005 (part-time).

·         Micro Machinists LLC, Director of Research (VPR and CTO), 2006 – 2009 (part-time).

·         Saint-Gobain Corporation (Abrasives), Research Leader and Research Associate, 2011-2013 (full-time).

·         Luke and Spencer LLC, President and CEO, 2018 (full-time).


Professional Registrations: Chartered Mechanical Engineer, Chartered Environmentalist, Chartered Scientist.